Love That Red

Everything You Need to Know

Microdermabrasion – Smoother Skin, Fast

After having my first ever Microdermabrasion treatment yesterday I felt that I was predisposed to bestow my wisdom and experiences upon you all; to sum up the experience was- AMMMMAAAZZZZINNGGGGG

What Is Microdermabrasion?

A facial procedure carried out by REGISTERED physicians which remove the top layer of sun-damaged and dead skin cells. The layer is removed in the same formations as wood is sanded back with sandpaper and by removing this layer, the treatment results in a fresher complexion with a healthier looking appearance.

How does Microdermabrasion work?

Microdermabrasion skin treatments exfoliate the skin, much in the same way as a loofah sponge, although through a mechanical process. The Microdermabrasion uses three specially designed, state-of-the-art subsystems: a vacuum system, a compressor and a patented hand piece with tubing interlink system. The system’s hand piece projects micro crystals onto the skin’s surface in what we call a “sandblasting” type of technique and then pulls the crystals back up into an adjoining waste canister along with any expunged skin cells.

What are the results?

An immediate improvement was apparent in my skins texture and appearance; today my skin looks 16 again, my fine lines are completely gone and the majority of my pigmentation has disappeared. Generally patients can expect to have softer and smoother skin with a reduction in fine lines, pigmentation, acne and mild scaring.

Does it hurt?

After reading about how it works and my analogy of ‘ sand paper’ I’m sure I’ve scared people into believing it is on par with torture however that is not the case. (However the claims that salons make about patients having mild to no discomfort at all is complete bollocks). It honestly does feel like scraping, like someone is scraping something gritty across your face; on the areas of your face which have tighter skin AKA nose, forehead etc. The discomfort is relative mild; however on the soft or sensitive skin areas I was definitely gritting my teeth and clenching my toes. It was kinda like losing your virginity – painful yet totally bearable.

How often should you receive treatments?

Speak to your consultant in your first session and after she has analysed your skin she will tell you an estimate; generally people have to go a few time to begin with in quick succession as they have such a build-up of dead skin and bacteria clogged pores. After the initial treatment it is recommend that you go 4-6 times per year to keep your skin in perfect condition.

How long does it take?

I was in there for 25 minutes – easy. Depending on the length of the consultation and the size and depth of the problem areas, expect it to take 25 to 40 minutes per session.

How soon will you see results?

You can expect to see IMMEDIATE improvement in the texture of the skin and your pores are no longer be visible. Any acne will remain red for about 24 hours after but the rest of your skin will only improve and keep improving in the days following.

Can you go to work/play sport/ go to uni afterwards?

I had it done in my lunch break – I was back in the office with what my colleagues described as a ‘ fresh’ complexion. I myself thought I resembled Freddy Kruger but hey I’m my worst critic right!!! In all honesty it just appeared bad as I was slightly pink and the few pimples on my chin were extremely aggravated and inflamed. So yes you can go and continue on with your day however I would save any social activities for a few days as it is advised to wear no makeup so that your skin can breathe.

Microdermabrasion costs anywhere from $90 – $150 per session but generally you can buy a package of multiple sessions for a discounted price.

Places in Sydney that perform Microdermabrasion – (If you live elsewhere and want to know where to go let me know)

    All in all I think Microdermabrasion is definitely something one should consider as the results and benefits are truly fantastic.

    X

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Microdermabrasion – Smoother Skin, Fast

  1. Pingback: Primped, Perfect and Ready to Party: Beauty Trends and Essentials « Love That Red

Leave a Reply

