Love That Red

Everything You Need to Know

Beauty Review: Max Factor Makeup

I was recently lucky enough to enjoy a makeup master class with Max Factors head of makeup artistry, Liz Kelsh.

Lovely & SUCH A Babe

It was here that I learnt just how to obtain some of the key looks used at the recent MBFWA and also a few tips on my own personal grooming. (One look at me and she asked if I ‘always wore such dark foundation’… :o) Whoops! I had thought it was pretty much on par with my skin tone!

The Makeup Masterclass

What I learnt…

Foundation

‘Foundation is like a bra, women are always wearing the wrong one’ – Liz Kelsh

The lovely Liz expertly chose me a foundation shade in the delightful ‘Miracle Touch Liquid Illusion Foundation’ (I was ‘natural’ btw, wayyyyy lighter than what I would have thought!)

What Max Factor says about the prod…

With a unique lightweight solid to liquid formula it removes the need for the traditional concealer, foundation and powder combination and instead creates the perfect base in just one easy application. The result is a flawless, fresh and incredibly smooth complexion that glows with radiance.

Tips from Liz…

Using the supplied spongy thing (which I rec washing a few times per week in order to lower the risk of spreading bacteria), apply liberally over your t-zone before smoothing excess out towards the sides of your face. Use short sweeping motions and use your fingers to blend the colour evenly. Dab extra product under the eyes and over any other problem area to build the coverage rather than adding a concealer.

Liz also suggests applying a few shades of foundation to your jaw line when choosing your correct colour. The one that is least visible is your correct shade. Wearing a darker shade will not make you look tan, it will only cause a ‘mask’ effect. If you want a bronze glow then use a bronzer!

What I thought…

At the time of the event my skin was in horrific condition and we were also in white lighting so I didn’t think it had enough coverage for me. Now it’s my daily staple! I love how light and natural it is and it smoothes out my complexion without looking like I’m wearing foundation the way I usually do. Dang it, she was right! I AM a lot paler than I thought!

Blush

Blush is used to add colour and dimension to our face. A blank canvas is always dull, no matter the subject matter. I usually choose really girly pretty pinks for blush so I was a touch apprehensive when Liz chose ‘Mulberry’, a colour I would have usually deemed ‘Nana-ish’.

What Max Factor says…

This sheer, soft blusher blends easily into your skin leaving a hint of colour that completes any make-up look. Use Max Factor Flawless Perfection Blush to define your cheekbones or simply let the luxurious and soft texture freshen your complexion.

Tips from Liz…

Blow the excess powder from the blusher brush before gently dusting upwards over your cheekbones. Blush should always look natural!

What I thought…

Well. Yet again she knew best as I am LOVING this whole grown-up, natural thing that’s going on with my normally barbie-ish mug.

Eyes

We used 3 products on my peepers; Liquid Effect Pencil in ‘Black Fire’, Masterpiece Colour Precision Eyeshadow in ‘Pearl Beige’, and False Lash Effect Black Mascara.

What Max Factor says…

For liquid-like intensity and long lasting colour try Liquid Effect Pencil Eyeliner and get expert precision in an easy to apply pencil. The intense finish and depth of colour of this new eye pencil gives the dramatic framing and definition you would expect from a liquid liner. Use the smart smudging tip on the end of the pencil to blend the liner slightly and take your look from day to night in one simple stroke!

New Masterpiece Colour Precision Eyeshadow is the ultimate way to precisely defined eyes. As part of the Masterpiece Collection it comes straight from the kits of top catwalk make-up artists and is available in a range of must-have shades. Immaculate eyeshadow just got a whole lot easier.

New False Lash Effect Mascara doubles your lash size with the impact of false lashes without the fuss. It is this season’s make up artist must have. The secret is in the lash boosting combination of Max Factor’s biggest brush ever combined with patented Liquid LashTM technology. Now with every volumising coat the big brush sweeps right to the tips giving your lashes fullness and head turning attitude.

What Liz thinks…

The eyeliner is her ‘must-have’ and she is absolutely obsessed with it. With a bit a practice she says that everyone can do a smokey eye, winged eye or even just a sexy smudged eye. Liz is adamant that every woman NEEDS this in her beauty bag and the woman is a genius so… listen.

What I think…

Although the eyeliner is amazing, I royally f-ed it up the first time I tried to sharpen it 😦 This makes me sad as I was in LOVE.  Liz taught me to apply the eyeshadow only to my inner eye ‘v’ to make the eyeliner stand out more and my eyes to pop. This eyeshadow is super pretty (albeit not very practical for daywear) and you can also use it to highlight your cheekbones, however pat in quickly as once it sets it won’t move (which is awesome for your eyelids but not so much your cheeks). The mascara is lovely, and one of the better ‘false lash’ mascaras on the market. If you are after mascara that gives your lashes oomph and volume, then forgo this bad boy as although he is a gem at lengthening and finding the white strays he fails to plump them out. I actually like this as I hate lash thickness and potential glugs but most gals like a bit of volume with their length so keep this in mind.

Lips

As a lipstick bag was passed around, we were asked to select whatever colour we liked. Obviously I choose red 🙂 BRIGHT red! Every time I’ve worn it since I’ve gotten compliments from peeps, ‘really suits you’ etc so if you have similar colouring to me take note!

What Max Factor says…

For instant fabulous colour and smoother, softer lips overtime look no further than Max Factor’s new Colour Elixir Lipstick. The Elixir formula contains a 60% blend of skin emollients, conditioners and antioxidants including vitamin E, for a visible transformation in the look and feel of your lips in just 7-days. As you apply the Colour Elixir Lipstick, it actively moisturises and smoothes lips. Enjoy rich and gorgeous looking colour on smooth beautiful lips

What Liz says…

Luscious lips are an iconic, classic look, and keeping your lips in good condition is key! Lips are more prone to drying than regular skin and a good lip care regime is the starting point for any great lip colour look…

What I thought…

Lovely, LOVELY colour. Team with big curls and a LBD for instant classic chic.

Finished Look – please excuse my boofy mane & weird looking smile

X

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Beauty Review: Max Factor Makeup

  1. Judy on said:

    What a beautiful young lady. X

Leave a Reply

